Your Account
Your Basket

click to view
review this book
more by
Ryunosuke Akutagawa

Rashomon and Seventeen Other Stories

Ryunosuke Akutagawa - Author
Haruki Murakami - Introduction by
Jay Rubin - Translator
add to basket view basket
Book: Paperback | 129 x 198mm | 320 pages | ISBN 9780140449709 | 30 Mar 2006 | Penguin Classics
Rashomon and Seventeen Other Stories
Ryunosuke Akutagawa (1892-1927) is one of Japan's foremost stylists - a modernist master whose short stories are marked by highly original imagery, cynicism, beauty and wild humour. 'Rashomon' and 'In a Bamboo Grove' inspired Kurosawa's magnificent film and depict a past in which morality is turned upside down, while tales such as 'The Nose', 'O-Gin' and 'Loyalty' paint a rich and imaginative picture of a medieval Japan peopled by Shoguns and priests, vagrants and peasants. And in later works such as 'Death Register', 'The Life of a Stupid Man' and 'Spinning Gears', Akutagawa drew from his own life to devastating effect, revealing his intense melancholy and terror of madness in exquisitely moving impressionistic stories.
Send this page to a friend